Showing an Occupied Rental

When the lease of your rental is up for renewal and your tenants have given you notice, you generally have two options: show the property while they are still there, or wait until they move out.

While it is much easier and less stressful to wait until the previous tenant has left, sometimes you will have to show the property while they are still there.

Here are some things to think about before showing  an occupied rental:

Communication is key

Always let your current tenant know what is going on and when you plan to show the property. If you have a good relationship with them, you may ask them to clean up a bit beforehand. Let them know as much in advance as you can as to when you will be visiting. By respecting their time and space, they will respect you too. This is especially important if the tenant has to take time off work to let you in, or if they have small children.

Offer a gift

Most tenants will be more than happy to oblige.  If they are uncooperative, or if your relationship with them is not a good one, try to reason with them or even offer an incentive such as a discount off the rent or a voucher.

Batch Showings

If you live in a popular neighbourhood and there are likely to be many people interested in viewing your property, try to make it easy on your tenant by batching your showings. It is much more convenient to have people walking through for half an hour at once, rather than one at a time for the whole day.

Showing an occupied rental
Show your rental property even if it is occupied

What else would you do to ensure your showings run smoothly when your tenant still lives there?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s